Monday, August 25, 2008

New Law in New Jersey for Bounty Hunters

New Jersey is starting to crack down on bounty hunters who sometimes act like they're in the Wild West.

A 2006 state law that's now taking effect requires bounty hunters to be at least 25 years old and have at least five years' experience in law enforcement or as a private investigator.

New Jersey also will offer a 16-hour training course in November.

State police say some bounty-hunting schools hand out badges and certification that have no legal standing. They say one school instructed students to pepper-spray anyone who answers the door at the home of a person being sought.

In a 2005 case, two bounty hunters handcuffed a Rutherford woman and drove her 35 miles before she convinced them she was the wrong person.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

No comments: